Mystic World Music


Tanbours Chant (Bar Sama`e Tanbour) - Mystic Music with Rumi Original Release Date: September 8, 2012 Audio CD, 1 Disc / MP3 DOWNLOAD BUY NOW
Tanbours Chant (Bar Sama`e Tanbour) - Mystic Music with Rumi Alireza Ghorbani, Tahmoures Pournazeri, Kaykhosro Pournazeri, Sohrab Pournazeri

Kayhan Kalhor is the world’s leading exponent of the kamancheh, an upright spike fiddle. Renowned for his work with Ghazal, a group that bridges Indian and Persian music, he applies a similar approach to Iranian folk and classical forms on Night Silence Desert. The Radif (Persian classical repertoire) grew from folk forms, but over the centuries the music evolved from its simple rural origins into an elaborately ornamented and rigorously structured style. This album doesn’t take the music back to its basics–there’s too much refined virtuosity on display. But the musicians infuse their playing with a vigor and crisp cohesion that belies the record’s fitful production. First Kalhor convened 11 strummers, drummers, and flute blowers in Tehran in 1994 to lay down the sweeping instrumental passages. Four years later he and vocalist Shajarian finished the record in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The two men exchange intricate call-and-response melodies that radiate impassioned exhilaration.

1. In Your Glory
2. Inviting You
3. Whirling
4. The Glance Of The Beloved
5. Tanbour Solo
6. Dedicated To You I
7. Dedicated To You II
8. Dedicated To You III
9. Tanbour Solo
10. The Love Song
11. Celebrating Lov
12. Tanbour Solo
13. Tell Me Who
14. The Messenger Of Love